Guess what your cheese is made from?

Guess what your cheese is made from? Wait, what is rennet?

photo

I’m alert and a little bit alarmed. Something a tad concerning has come to my attention. Something I was totally oblivious to and was horrified to find out. I love cheese, and I’ve seen those shows showing how they make cheese and how they age cheese and I know you need rennet to make cheese, but I had no idea what conventional rennet is. I was totally ignorant and totally unaware and I was shocked to find out that it wasn’t spoken about more. (Warning this may be a bit too much information for some people, but I think it’s really important to know.) Ok, so, cheese requires an enzyme call rennet to made the cheese solid. CALF rennet is extracted from the lining of a young unweaned calf’s stomach and sometimes it’s from a pig’s stomach. Rennet is often described as a by-product of veal production. Now, I’m not a vegetarian and I may sound a bit hypocritical, but I don’t really like the idea of this calf rennet.

The good news is many cheeses in Australia use non-animal enzymes and they do state this on the back on their packets. So, if the use of animal rennet concerns you, it’s best to seek out the alternative cheeses and do a little label reading. The non-animal rennet cheeses I’ve tried are still delicious and rad and awesome, so don’t worry!

x

Leave a Comment

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Previous post:

Next post: